Monday, May 17, 2010

May 24 Earthcast on Creating Sustainable Communities

You're invited to participate in the upcoming Earthcast, sponsored by Earthscan Publishing, on "Creating Sustainable Communities."

Monday 24 May 2010
17:00 BST, 12:00 EDT, 9:00 PDT
Click here for free registration

>> Develop the skills to tackle sustainability issues in your local area
>> Learn how to organise and run planning events in your community
>> Get advice on how to utilise local skills and ideas

This Earthcast will present practical guidance for people who want to help make their communities more pleasant and sustainable places in which to live. The speakers are all authors in our Tools for Community Planning series, and will focus on ways to improve communities through improved communication and the effective implementation of local ideas and skills.

Speakers include
* Nick Wates is the author of The Community Planning Handbook and The Community Planning Event Manual. He is director of the community planning consultancy Nick Wates Associates and site editor of and he also is an instructor at PublicDecisions.
* Wendy Sarkissian is the author of Kitchen Table Sustainability, SpeakOut and Creative Community Planning. She is a speaker, planning practitioner, academic and workshop facilitator. She also was a speaker at the recent PublicDecisions/APA Public Engagement Interest Group online conference on engagement for sustainable communities and climate change.
* Nabeel Hamdi is the author of The Placemaker's Guide to Building Community and Small Change and is currently Professor Emeritus at Oxford Brookes University. In 1997 Nabeel won the UN-Habitat Scroll of Honour for his work on Community Action Planning. (Nabeel also will be the guest at our next PublicDecisions PublicForum Book Talk on Friday, May 28.)
Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More