Monday, July 19, 2010

July 29 Webinar: A New Way to Talk About Social Determinants of Health

Glad to pass on news from the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation about this upcoming webinar that may be of interest to folks who work in the area of health engagement:

"Webinar: A New Way to Talk About the Social Determinants of Health

The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation and Grantmakers in Health invite you to participate in a 90-minute webinar to share research and best practices in effective communication about the social determinants of health and the complex beliefs and conflicted values that come along with it. Over the course of four years, the RWJF Vulnerable Populations Portfolio, along with Olson Zaltman Associates and Westen Strategies, undertook an iterative research and message development process, that benefitted from both traditional and nontraditional research techniques. As a result, we now have a way to create more compelling, effective and persuasive messages that resonate across the political spectrum.

Scheduled for Thursday, July 29, 2010 at 3:00 p.m. (EST) / 2:00 p.m. (CST) / 1:00 p.m. (MST) / 12:00 noon (PST), this webinar will summarize research about this complicated aspect of health and share the most effective way to reach the widest audiences.

What you will learn:
Better frames and messages for “social determinants”
Best practices and principles in language
How to use data to support your case
Deeply held perspectives that affect how policymakers see health disparities

Panelists will include:
Ann Christiano, Senior Communications Officer, RWJF
Drew Westen, Ph.D., Professor in the Departments of Psychology and Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at Emory University.
Elizabeth Carger, Senior Project Manager, Olson Zaltman Associates

Following the 60-minute presentation, all panelists will answer your questions during a 30-minute Q&A session.

The deadline to register for this event is Tuesday, July 27. All participants will also receive a copy of our new messaging guide on the social determinants of health. To register:

Go to
Select Register.
On the registration form, enter your information and then select Submit.

To learn about Grantmakers in Health and fostering communication and collaboration among grantmakers, visit

We look forward to having you join us on July 29."
Twitter Delicious Facebook Digg Stumbleupon Favorites More